Thursday starts it all

It was a Thursday evening in a conference room with one very very large video screen and two smaller screens over to the side, with the Windows© screen lighting up the carpet it was so bright.  We were seated in classroom style for 40 people and a salad and pizza awaited us in the next room as a welcome dinner. We had introductions of the AUSA, the Director, the SAC, and the ASAC as well as a host of other government initials only explained in the addendum to our initial welcome packet.

Curious yet? The LEGAT asks us to stand up by our seats, raise our right hand, and repeat after him.

                “I (name) do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter. So help me God.”

Welcome, new agents, to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. So it begins.

My favorite quote about me from my left over friends so far is:  “Wow, that’s freaking cool! You’re one of the few people I know who get cooler with age!”

AND should you want to help and report something:

http://www.fbi.gov/contact-us/field

Leave a Reply

