Why is everybody incompetent?

The next few days…. a list of PET PEEVES that we probably all have… I just wrote them down.

1. Show Up

You can’t make it if you don’t arrive. In person is nice, but e-mail and social networking is cool. Just react. Or don’t be surprised when you end up in your own private backwater, complaining that nobody cares.

2. Don’t Be Late

Unless you want to piss people off. Sure, five or ten minutes is de rigueur, but, if you’re gonna go beyond this, SEND A TEXT! An e-mail, dial the phone! It’s EASY! We understand if you make an effort. But if you don’t…

3. Don’t Send Form Letters

We’re overloaded with spam, but you send one of those press releases or hit REPLY TO ALL, Give me a break, you’re just pissing me off.

4. Make It Personal

If you’re going to bother to connect, make it a one-off. Ten personal e-mails are better than a hundred spam bcc’s. If you address it to me, I’ll read it, I’ll pay attention, I know you’ve made an effort. But if it’s to me and who knows who else, forget it.

5. Be Nice

I get it. You’re pissed off you’re not where you want to be. I sympathize. But if you’re going to bother to interact with someone, especially if they’re higher up on the business food chain, your only possibility of gaining traction is to be nice. It’s just like your mama told you, flies are attracted to honey. You don’t have to do it this way, you can fly solo and wow everybody. Be my guest, I love the left field success. But if you want to play the game, cordiality is key.

6. Do What You Say You’re Gonna Do

No one ever does. So you’ll stand out if you do.

7. Finish

Whether it be school or cleaning the house. It shows that you care, that you have pride in your work, that you can be counted on.

Leave a Reply

