Hand Signals

As my guests left my house one turned, I assumed, to wave goodbye…Instead I got the NEW universal sign “text me” waving her THUMBS in the air.

We are replacing the friendly wave and the hand-cradle, pinky to mouth and thumb to ear sign with cultural “signals”.

The old favorites have also changed. Thumbs up, in ROMAN TIMES meant KILL the gladiator (yes believe it or not SOME movies were WRONG).

GIs used the thumb up to indicate it was OK for a plane to take off. I thought thumbs up was “GREAT – OK

I believe gesturing helps us think… How many of you still wave your hands at SIRI????

Technology, as used in some new “phones”, now tracks eye movement to pause playback of videos.

It’s all about change.

Leave a Reply

